The INOGATE Programme is steered jointly by the European Union and the INOGATE Partner Countries.

The European Union is represented by:

  • European Commission
    • Directorate General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement negotiations (as of 1st January 2015) – (DG NEAR)
    • Directorate General for Energy (DG Energy)
  • External Action Service

The DG NEAR takes the lead in coordinating the INOGATE Programme on behalf of the EU. The EU funds the INOGATE Programme and coordinates its main direction in line with agreed policy frameworks.

DG NEAR works closely with:

  • the INOGATE Technical Secretariat to extend assistance to the Partner Countries
  • INOGATE Country Experts who provide support in each Partner Country.

The INOGATE Partner Countries are represented by their respective ministries in charge of energy and are officially represented by the minister.

The INOGATE Country Coordinators are nominated by each Partner Country and represent the ministry in charge of energy. They:

  • Act as the focal point for INOGATE information in their country
  • Participate in bi-annual meetings to review and approve INOGATE work programmes and strategies
  • Are responsible for all implementation of INOGATE activities in their country, ensuring they are in line with their countries’ needs.


Responsible for implementing specific areas of the INOGATE work programme are the working groups and technical expert groups who are made up of individual members nominated by their Partner Countries. The members of these groups are presented in the following links:

  • WG 1: Working Group 1 – Energy Market Convergence
  • WG 2: Working Group 2 – Energy Security
  • WG 3:Working Group 3 – Sustainable Energy Development
  • WG 4: Working Group 4 – Investment Attraction
  • HG 1: Horizontal Group – Regulatory representatives
  • HG 2: Horizontal Group – Energy Statistics Network
  • TEG 1: Technical Expert Group for Energy Markets and Infrastructures
  • TEG 2: Technical Expert Group for Standardisation (Electricity & Gas)
  • CC: Country Coordinators

INOGATE people & roles

Last & first name Organization Position Country
Melkonyan, Tigran Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources of the Republic of Armenia Head of External Relations Department Armenia
Huseynov, Iftikhar Ministry of Industry and Energy of Azerbaijan Head of Administration Azerbaijan
Sorich, Andrey Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Belarus Deputy Head of Main Department of Strategic Development and Investments Belarus
Pirtskhelani, Nana Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources of Georgia Chief Adviser to the Minister Georgia
Uisimbayeva, Gulzhan Ministry of Energy Acting head of Sector of International Cooperation of the Department of International Cooperation and Economic Integration Processes Kazakhstan
Sadabayev, Tulegen Ministry of Energy and Industry of the Kyrgyz Republic Head of Fuel, Gas and Heat Supply Department Kyrgyzstan
Parsian, Galina Ministry of Economy of the Republic of Moldova Head of the Thermal Power Department Moldova
Rakhimzoda, Naim Ministry of Energy and Water Resources of Tajikistan Head of the Main Department of Water and Energy Policy Tajikistan
Aykul-Muratoğlu, Reha Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources of the Republic of Turkey Head of Division within the Transit Petroleum Pipelines Department Turkey
Bno-Airiyan, Mikhail Ministry of Energy and Coal Industry of Ukraine European Integration Department Head Ukraine
Tashkentbaev, Ibragim Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Uzbekistan Chief Specialist Uzbekistan