The INOGATE Programme is steered jointly by the European Union and the INOGATE Partner Countries.

The European Union is represented by:

  • European Commission
    • Directorate General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement negotiations (as of 1st January 2015) – (DG NEAR)
    • Directorate General for Energy (DG Energy)
  • External Action Service

The DG NEAR takes the lead in coordinating the INOGATE Programme on behalf of the EU. The EU funds the INOGATE Programme and coordinates its main direction in line with agreed policy frameworks.

DG NEAR works closely with:

  • the INOGATE Technical Secretariat to extend assistance to the Partner Countries
  • INOGATE Country Experts who provide support in each Partner Country.

The INOGATE Partner Countries are represented by their respective ministries in charge of energy and are officially represented by the minister.

The INOGATE Country Coordinators are nominated by each Partner Country and represent the ministry in charge of energy. They:

  • Act as the focal point for INOGATE information in their country
  • Participate in bi-annual meetings to review and approve INOGATE work programmes and strategies
  • Are responsible for all implementation of INOGATE activities in their country, ensuring they are in line with their countries’ needs.


Responsible for implementing specific areas of the INOGATE work programme are the working groups and technical expert groups who are made up of individual members nominated by their Partner Countries. The members of these groups are presented in the following links:

  • WG 1: Working Group 1 – Energy Market Convergence
  • WG 2: Working Group 2 – Energy Security
  • WG 3:Working Group 3 – Sustainable Energy Development
  • WG 4: Working Group 4 – Investment Attraction
  • HG 1: Horizontal Group – Regulatory representatives
  • HG 2: Horizontal Group – Energy Statistics Network
  • TEG 1: Technical Expert Group for Energy Markets and Infrastructures
  • TEG 2: Technical Expert Group for Standardisation (Electricity & Gas)
  • CC: Country Coordinators

INOGATE people & roles

Last & first name Organization Position Country
Gyulumyan, Boris Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources of the Republic of Armenia Head of Financial-Economic Department Armenia
Mammadov, Zaur Ministry of Industry and Energy of the Azerbaijan Republic Senior Advisor of the Investment Policy Department Azerbaijan
Alekseyevich-Polyavchenko, Nikolay Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Belarus Head of the Department of Investments Belarus
Tavdumadze, Liza Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources of Georgia Deputy Head of Investment Project Department Georgia
Bazarbayevna-Bulekbayeva, Raygul Ministry of Industry and New Technologies of the Republic of Kazakhstan Expert of Section of Usage and Development of Renewable Sources of Energy of Department Electrical Power and Coal Industry Kazakhstan
Dusebaeva, Alija Ministry of Oil and Gas of the Republic of Kazakhstan Chief Expert of Section of Gas Projects Development of Department of Gas Industry Development Kazakhstan
Erkeshovich-Gapbasov, Kanat Ministry of Industry and New Technologies of the Republic of Kazakhstan Expert of Section of Electric Power Development of Department of Electric Power and Coal Industry Kazakhstan
Irmanovich-Katyshev, Sergey KEGOC JSC (Kazakhstan Electricity Grid Operating Company) of the Republic of Kazakhstan Director of the Projects Managment Department Kazakhstan
Khamzayevich-Shuriev, Rustem Ministry of Oil and Gas of the Republic of Kazakhstan Expert of Section of Monitoring of Oil Transportation and Oil Projects of Department of Oil Industry Development Kazakhstan
Satovna-Imankulova, Zhanna Ministry of Energy and Industry of the Kyrgyz Republic Chief Specialist of the Section of External Relations and Investments Kyrgyzstan
Turcanu, Angela Ministry of Economy and Commerce of the Republic of Moldova Senior consultant of the division analysis, monitoring and evaluation Moldova
Idiev, Ahmad OJSC “Tajiktransgas” Deputy General Director Tajikistan
Aykul-Muratoğlu, Reha Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources of the Republic of Turkey Head of Division within the Transit Petroleum Pipelines Department Turkey
Bojcun, Natalja Ministry of Energy and Coal Industry of Ukraine Director of European Integration and International Cooperation Ukraine
Shagazatov, Oibek Ministry of Foreign Economic Relations, Investments and Trade of the Republic of Uzbekistan Main specialist of the division of monitoring investment projects Uzbekistan