The INOGATE Programme is steered jointly by the European Union and the INOGATE Partner Countries.

The European Union is represented by:

  • European Commission
    • Directorate General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement negotiations (as of 1st January 2015) – (DG NEAR)
    • Directorate General for Energy (DG Energy)
  • External Action Service

The DG NEAR takes the lead in coordinating the INOGATE Programme on behalf of the EU. The EU funds the INOGATE Programme and coordinates its main direction in line with agreed policy frameworks.

DG NEAR works closely with:

  • the INOGATE Technical Secretariat to extend assistance to the Partner Countries
  • INOGATE Country Experts who provide support in each Partner Country.

The INOGATE Partner Countries are represented by their respective ministries in charge of energy and are officially represented by the minister.

The INOGATE Country Coordinators are nominated by each Partner Country and represent the ministry in charge of energy. They:

  • Act as the focal point for INOGATE information in their country
  • Participate in bi-annual meetings to review and approve INOGATE work programmes and strategies
  • Are responsible for all implementation of INOGATE activities in their country, ensuring they are in line with their countries’ needs.


Responsible for implementing specific areas of the INOGATE work programme are the working groups and technical expert groups who are made up of individual members nominated by their Partner Countries. The members of these groups are presented in the following links:

  • WG 1: Working Group 1 – Energy Market Convergence
  • WG 2: Working Group 2 – Energy Security
  • WG 3:Working Group 3 – Sustainable Energy Development
  • WG 4: Working Group 4 – Investment Attraction
  • HG 1: Horizontal Group – Regulatory representatives
  • HG 2: Horizontal Group – Energy Statistics Network
  • TEG 1: Technical Expert Group for Energy Markets and Infrastructures
  • TEG 2: Technical Expert Group for Standardisation (Electricity & Gas)
  • CC: Country Coordinators

INOGATE people & roles

Last & first name Organization Position Country
Rzaev, Asaf Ministry of Industry and Energy of the Azerbaijan Republic Deputy Director of the Department of Energy Azerbaijan
Vasilievna-Ostrovskaya, Tamara Ministry of Economy of the Republic of Belarus Head of the Department of Fuel and Energy Complex, Economic Development and Energy Efficiency Belarus
Oniani, David GOGC (Georgian Oil and Gas Corporation) Commercial Director Georgia
Partsvania, Maka Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources of Georgia Chief Specialist of Investment Project Department Georgia
Ahmetovna-Hajdargalieva, Sholpan Ministry of Oil and Gas of the Republic of Kazakhstan Deputy Director of Department of Oil Chemistry and Technical Regulation Kazakhstan
Amanzholovna-Syzdykova, Asel Ministry of Oil and Gas of the Republic of Kazakhstan Head of Section of Department of Strategic Development and International Cooperation Kazakhstan
Erkeshovich-Gapbasov, Kanat Ministry of Industry and New Technologies of the Republic of Kazakhstan Expert of Section of Electric Power Development of Department of Electric Power and Coal Industry Kazakhstan
Sultanmuratovich-Dubanaev, Kubatbek Ministry of Energy and Industry of the Kyrgyz Republic Head of Section of Legal Provision Kyrgyzstan
Kondratiyevich-Lesnic, Valentin Ministry of Economy of the Republic of Moldova Head of the Electricity and Electric Networks Cooperation Department Moldova
Akkaya, Irem Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources of the Republic of Turkey Head of EU Coordination Department of Energy and Natural Resources Turkey
Bojcun, Natalja Ministry of Energy and Coal Industry of Ukraine Director of European Integration and International Cooperation Ukraine
Saifnazarov, Sakhib Ministry of Economy of the Republic of Uzbekistan Head of Main Division of the Ministry of Economy Uzbekistan