The INOGATE Programme is steered jointly by the European Union and the INOGATE Partner Countries.

The European Union is represented by:

  • European Commission
    • Directorate General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement negotiations (as of 1st January 2015) – (DG NEAR)
    • Directorate General for Energy (DG Energy)
  • External Action Service

The DG NEAR takes the lead in coordinating the INOGATE Programme on behalf of the EU. The EU funds the INOGATE Programme and coordinates its main direction in line with agreed policy frameworks.

DG NEAR works closely with:

  • the INOGATE Technical Secretariat to extend assistance to the Partner Countries
  • INOGATE Country Experts who provide support in each Partner Country.

The INOGATE Partner Countries are represented by their respective ministries in charge of energy and are officially represented by the minister.

The INOGATE Country Coordinators are nominated by each Partner Country and represent the ministry in charge of energy. They:

  • Act as the focal point for INOGATE information in their country
  • Participate in bi-annual meetings to review and approve INOGATE work programmes and strategies
  • Are responsible for all implementation of INOGATE activities in their country, ensuring they are in line with their countries’ needs.


Responsible for implementing specific areas of the INOGATE work programme are the working groups and technical expert groups who are made up of individual members nominated by their Partner Countries. The members of these groups are presented in the following links:

  • WG 1: Working Group 1 – Energy Market Convergence
  • WG 2: Working Group 2 – Energy Security
  • WG 3:Working Group 3 – Sustainable Energy Development
  • WG 4: Working Group 4 – Investment Attraction
  • HG 1: Horizontal Group – Regulatory representatives
  • HG 2: Horizontal Group – Energy Statistics Network
  • TEG 1: Technical Expert Group for Energy Markets and Infrastructures
  • TEG 2: Technical Expert Group for Standardisation (Electricity & Gas)
  • CC: Country Coordinators

INOGATE people & roles

Last & first name Organization Position Country
Budaghyan, Abgar Public Services Regulatory Commission of the Republic of Armenia (PSRC) Head of licensed activity monitoring and investment program department Armenia
Alekseevich-Fomin, Igor Ministry of Economy of the Republic of Belarus Pricing Policy Department Director Belarus
Drozdova, Tatyana Ministry of Economy Head of the Main Department of Fuel and Energy Complex, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Industry Belarus
Gocha, Shonia Georgian National Electricity Regulatory Commission (GNERC) Commissioner Georgia
Maitiyev, Azamat The Agency of the Republic of Kazakhstan for Regulation of the Natural Monopolies Deputy Director of the Department for Regulation in the Sphere of Piping and Water Sewage Systems Kazakhstan
Azimbekovich-Ishenaliev, Azat State Department for Regulation in Fuel and Energy Complex within the Ministry of Energy of the Kyrgyz Republic Head of the Section of Prices and Tariffs Kyrgyzstan
Myrzageldievna-Aidarova, Mirgul State Department for Regulation in Fuel and Energy Complex within the Ministry of Energy of the Kyrgyz Republic Deputy Director Kyrgyzstan
Sula, Andrei The National Agency of the Republic of Moldova for Energy Regulation (ANRE) Chief Specialist of the Department of Regulation and Licensing Moldova
Odinaev, Nazar Antimonopoly Services under the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan First Deputy Head Tajikistan
Merkushov, Victor National Electricity Regulatory Commission of Ukraine Commissioner Ukraine
Kamalov, Kahramon Ministry of Finance Head of Consolidated Price Regulation Department Uzbekistan